Social Media Archive

  • A few days ago I shared how your iPhone keeps tabs on where you are.  Well, Facebook does too.  "Nearby Friends" on Facebook mobile lets friends know that you're nearby. If you have the Facebook app on your phone (iPhone or Android) you have this feature available.  Nearby Friends is an opt-in feature; meaning, it is OFF unless you turn the feature ON. Let’s take a closer look at Nearby Friends, including what it might mean for teens.

    What is Nearby Friends on Facebook?

    A few days ago I shared how your iPhone keeps tabs on where you are. Well, Facebook does too. "Nearby Friends" on Facebook mobile lets friends know that you're nearby. If you have the Facebook app on your phone (iPhone or Android) you have this feature available. Nearby Friends is an opt-in feature; meaning, it is OFF unless you turn the feature ON. Let’s take a closer look at Nearby Friends, including what it might mean for teens.

    Continue Reading...

  • If you’re new to social media sites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, you may have heard of "tagging" but are not really sure what it means.  Simply put, tagging identifies someone else in a post, photo or status update that you share.  A tag may also notify that person that you have mentioned them or referred to them in a post or a photo, and provide a link back to their profile.

    Tag, You’re it – what does it mean to be “Tagged” on Facebook and other sites?

    If you’re new to social media sites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, you may have heard of "tagging" but are not really sure what it means. Simply put, tagging identifies someone else in a post, photo or status update that you share. A tag may also notify that person that you have mentioned them or referred to them in a post or a photo, and provide a link back to their profile.

    Continue Reading...

  • Facebook privacy settings can be so confusing.  Facebook seems to change their settings frequently and the myriad of options can be overwhelming.  Recently a friend realized that he had been sharing his Facebook posts not just with his friends, but with everyone on Facebook.  When your posts are public, there is an increased chance that you will show up in Facebook search, and that your information is exposed to people you don’t know.  So here is a suggested 5-minute Facebook review to make sure that you are only sharing with your friends.

    5 Minute Facebook Privacy Checkup

    Facebook privacy settings can be so confusing. Facebook seems to change their settings frequently and the myriad of options can be overwhelming. Recently a friend realized that he had been sharing his Facebook posts not just with his friends, but with everyone on Facebook. When your posts are public, there is an increased chance that you will show up in Facebook search, and that your information is exposed to people you don’t know. So here is a suggested 5-minute Facebook review to make sure that you are only sharing with your friends.

    Continue Reading...

  • A relative of mine asked me recently, "What can I do if I don’t want to see someone’s updates on Facebook, but I’d rather not unfriend or block them?" Here’s how to make it seem like you have unfriended a person.  First, you will prevent their updates from showing up on your news feed (the page you see when you first log into Facebook). Then, you can prevent them from seeing your updates.

    How to Distance yourself from a Facebook friend without Unfriending

    A relative of mine asked me recently, "What can I do if I don’t want to see someone’s updates on Facebook, but I’d rather not unfriend or block them?" Here’s how to make it seem like you have unfriended a person. First, you will prevent their updates from showing up on your news feed (the page you see when you first log into Facebook). Then, you can prevent them from seeing your updates.

    Continue Reading...