Ever see those posts on Facebook that urge you to “share this to save it on your wall so you can find it later? Well that is one way to save it for later so you can find that recipe or funny video or article that you don’t have time for at the moment. Of course when you share, all your friends are seeing that post too. And that’s fine, as long as you don’t mind all your friends knowing what you want to cook or watch or read. But did you know there’s an easier, more private way? Here’s how to use the “Save” feature on Facebook.
February is Data Privacy month. Are you protecting your data online? Are your kids aware of the data they share every day when using apps and social media? Take this short quiz and see how you’re doing. Have your kids take the quiz too! Then learn about your rights as a parent regarding what companies can do with your children’s data.
If you’re new to social media sites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, you may have heard of “tagging” but are not really sure what it means. Simply put, tagging identifies someone else in a post, photo or status update that you share. A tag may also notify that person that you have mentioned them or referred to them in a post or a photo, and provide a link back to their profile.
Facebook privacy settings can be so confusing. Facebook seems to change their settings frequently and the myriad of options can be overwhelming. Recently a friend realized that he had been sharing his Facebook posts not just with his friends, but with everyone on Facebook. When your posts are public, there is an increased chance that you will show up in Facebook search, and that your information is exposed to people you don’t know. So here is a suggested 5-minute Facebook review to make sure that you are only sharing with your friends.
A relative of mine asked me, “What can I do if I don’t want to see someone’s updates on Facebook, but I’d rather not unfriend or block them?” Here’s how to make it seem like you have unfriended a person. First, you will prevent their updates from showing up on your news feed (the page you see when you first log into Facebook). Then, you can prevent them from seeing your updates.
Recently a friend-of-a-friend’s Facebook account was hacked. She realized that spam e-mails were being sent from her account. Here are some steps you can take if you believe your account has been compromised, along with some steps to prevent this from happening. Please share this with your Facebooking teens. A 2011 survey showed that 30% of teen’s accounts had been hacked – by a friend! So help them check their privacy and security settings on a regular basis.
Notifications are messages that Facebook sends you when there has been some activity associated with your profile. Did you know you can control when Facebook sends you an e-mail notification? This can be helpful depending on how you use Facebook.
[Updated March 2013] Have you Google’d yourself lately? (Or Bing’d yourself? Or Yahoo’d yourself? Why do these terms sound a little dirty?) If you have, you might have seen that one of the top results is your Facebook profile. You can prevent that from happening if you want to make it a little bit harder […]
Did you know that you can download and save a copy of all the information you’ve posted to Facebook? Well you can and I’m going to walk your through the steps. Why Download your Facebook Data? Backup for photos that you might have uploaded directly from your phone but haven’t yet synched to computer. Quick review […]